We’re sorry but we are currently still working on support for IE6 because of its non-compliance with common web standards. In the meantime, please consider upgrading to Internet Explorer 7, FireFox, Apple Safari, or Google Chrome.

TWH »

Empire: Total War Heaven

You must be logged in to post messages.
Please login or register

Empire: Total War - Campaign & General Discussion
Moderated by Pitt, Awesome Eagle

Hop to:    
Welcome! You are not logged in. Please Login or Register.4 replies
Empire: Total War Heaven » Forums » Empire: Total War - Campaign & General Discussion » Questions Regarding Ottoman Units
Bottom
Topic Subject:Questions Regarding Ottoman Units
webstral
Mariner
posted 03-16-12 04:12 PM EDT (US)         
For the first time, I had a look at the Ottoman Empire last night. I studied the units and had some questions I hope other players can answer.

One of the early melee units has a two word moniker that can be abbreviated B-B. This unit is fairly inexpensive and is identified as being an “irregular” type of unit. In the context of a melee unit, what does this mean?

Can the camel gunners dismount? The unit description implies as much, but I’ve never seen the AI dismount these guys against me.

Do the Ottomans have any strike cavalry aside from the lancers that can be recruited by the military academy (I think)? By strike cavalry, I mean cavalry heavy enough to overwhelm an otherwise steady enemy unit with shock power and stay in combat if the initial rush doesn’t work. Regiments of horse fit this description. Lancers tend to have good shock effect, but if the enemy doesn’t rout immediately they are at a disadvantage in close combat. I’m curious to know whether the Ottomans have anything like the European regiments of horse, but I didn’t find any such item during my initial search.

I note that the azzars have a very low reload skill and not a lot of ammunition. Can anyone tell me more about their performance on the battlefield?